How to Get a Medical Card in Utah

Most parts of the world are becoming open-minded and accepting medical marijuana as a legitimate treatment plan for some conditions. The state of Utah is one of the places that has legalized the use of medical marijuana. Utah Department of Health (UDOH) begun accepting applications for medical marijuana patients in 2020. Patients can now apply for their medical marijuana card to get a continued treatment plan. Every state has its laws and regulations that guide the sale and usage of medical marijuana. There are still a few hurdles in Utah, such as shortage of product and government red tape, but there is hope of more pharmacies coming up in 2021. If you are wondering how to get a medical marijuana card in Utah, here are the guidelines on how to go about it.

What Type of Card Do You Need?

You can get four different cards, depending on your needs:

Patient cards: These are for patients who are above 18 years. Patients who have already filled the eligibility papers and have been given the go-ahead.

Provisional patient cards for minors: Patients who are below the age of 18 and meet the requirements of using medical marijuana. They must be signed off by a guardian and approved by the Compassionate use Board.

Guardian cards: These are for parents and guardians of minors or seniors who are eligible for the consumption of medical marijuana.

Caregiver cards: These are for adults who take care of patients who are not able to procure the medication on their own.

All applicants must apply via the Compassionate Use Board (CUB). It reviews all applicants and approves usage depending on the set rules and regulations. Cards are valid for one month. When the card expires, the patient must renew online with the recommendation of their medical caregiver.

The Application Process

The first step is to get a qualified medical professional (QMP) registered with UDOH to write you a prescription. There is a list of registered professionals in UTAH. They can also advise you on how to get a medical card in Utah, depending on your location. After assessment and prescription, you can go ahead and start the application process.

Applications are made via Utah’s electronic verification system. Once you apply and pay the required fees, the application goes to UDOH for review. At UDOH, they review your application to determine if all the requirements have been met. The application is processed within 15 days or sooner. If you qualify and you are approved, the card is sent to you via mail. You can print it or save it online.

Smoking cannabis is still illegal in the state of Utah. Once you receive your card, you can legally purchase and use medical marijuana in Utah. You will be required to always carry your card with you for purchases. You can only buy the amount stated on your prescription. Any extra purchases may land you on the wrong side of the law. Utah is determined to have more medical marijuana labs to facilitate safe and professional dispensing of product.

Featured photo by MJImages

Support @QUE.COM

Founder, QUE.COM Internet Media. | Founder, Yehey.com a Shout for Joy! | MAJ.COM Management of Assets and Joint Venture.. More at KING.NET Ideas to Life.

Leave a Reply

Sponsored by.

Your Ad Here!